STATE OF DELAWARE
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MEMORANDUM
DATE: April 26,2016
TO: All Members of the Delaware State Senate

and House of Representatives

©m-r¢/

FROM: Ms. Daniese McMullin-Powet; Ché;l‘l?par@h
State Council for Persons with Disabilities

RE: S.B. 214 (Employment Discrimination)

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) has reviewed S.B. 214 which increases
the amount of time provided to a person seeking to file a charge of employment discrimination
from 120 days to 300 days, making Delaware’s statute of limitation consistent with the statute of
limitations under federal discrimination law. SCPD endorses the proposed legislation and has
the following observations.

As background, Delaware law currently imposes a 120-day statute of limitation for the filing of
an employment discrimination complaint. This includes complaints based on the “Persons with
Disabilities Employment Protections Act”. See Title 19 Del.C: §§712 and 727. The 120-day
standard does not conform to federal law. Consistent with the attached excerpt from the EEOC
Website, the statute of limitation is 300 days for states whose departments of labor are authorized
to process complaints: :

IX. What Agency Handles a Charge that Is also Covered by State or Local Law?

Many states and localities have anti-discrimination laws and agencies responsible for
enforcing those laws. EEOC refers to these agencies as “Fair Employment Practices
Agencies (FEPAs)”. Through the use of “work sharing agreements”, EEOC and the
FEPAs avoid duplication of effort while at the same time ensuring that a charging party’s
rights are protected under both federal and state law.



VIII. What Are the Time Limits for Filing a Charge of Discrimination?

...There are strict time limits within which charges must be filed:

. A charge must be filed with EEOC within 180 days from the date of the alleged
violation, in order to protect the charging party’s rights.

. This 180-day filing deadline is extended to 300 days if the charge is also covered
by state or local anti-discrimination law.

S.B. 214 conforms the State statute of limitations to match the above federal standard, i.e., 300
days. This is highly preferable for multiple reasons. First, individuals looking at the current
Delaware Code may be misled into believing they only have 120 days to file a charge under both
federal and state law. Second, it facilitates the administration of the State Department of Labor
to have a State charge time line equal to the federal standard. Under current law, Delawareans
who file charges within 120 days can have their claims processed by the State while those filing
between 121-300 days have their claims routed to the federal EEOC for processing. See
attached excerpt from Delaware DOL Website. This is an awkward and confusing system for
consumers.

Thank you for your consideration and please contact SCPD if you have any questions regarding our
regarding our position or observations on the proposed legislation.

cc: Mr. Brian Hartman, Esq.
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens

Developmental Disabilities Council
SB 240 employment discrimination 4-19-16
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Grow Your Legal Practice (htip:/iwww.martindalenolo.com/resourcesfarow-your-practice)
Lawyer Direclory (http:/vww.nolo,com/flawyers)

Time Limits for Filing a Charge of
Discrimination

Before you can sue your employer for discrimination, you must first file a charge of
discrimination with the EEOC or a similar state agency.

r

Talk to an Employment Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

| Enter zip Code | ((sEARcH |

(https: (bt

Before an employee may sue for discrimination, harassment, or retallation (/topics/discrimination-and-
harassment) under federal law, the employee must file a charge of discrimination with the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and get a right to sue letter, This Is a necessary prerequlsite to flling a
lawsuit: If an employee files a lawsult without first flling an administrative charge, the lawsuit will be

dismissed.

Which Laws Are Covered

An employee is required to file a charge of discrimination with the EEOC before filing a lawsuit agalnst an
employer for violating Title Vil (the federal law that prohibits discrimination on the basls of race, color,
national orlgin, religion, and sex), the Americans with Disabilitles Act (famerican-disabilities-act.cfm), the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act, or the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act. An employee alleging
harassment or retaliation under any of these laws must also first file a charge. However, an employee does
not have to file a charge before bringing a lawsuit for violation of the Equal Pay Act, which requires
employees-to pay men and women equally for equal work.

Most states have their own laws that prohibit certain types of discrimination. Some states also require
employees to file a charge of discrimination before filing a lawsuit for violation of state law; others don'.

Learn more about Your Rights in a Discrimination Case (/topics/asserting-your-rights).

Time Limits for Filing a Charge

The statute of limitations for flling a charge of discrimination depends on state and local law. Generally, an
% employee has 180 days from the date the alleged discrimination took place to file a charge. If a state or |ocal

agency enforces a law prohibiting the same type of discrimination, the time fimit Is extended to 300 days.
For age discrimination cases, the rule is different: The deadline is extended to 300 days only if a state
agency (not a local agency) enforces a law prohiblting age discrimination.

http://www.employmentlawfirms.com/statutes-of-limitations.cfm 3/29/2016
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Work-Sharing Agreements

In many states, the EEOC has entered Into a work-sharing agreement with the state fair employment
practices agency. If you file a charge of discrimination-with either the EEOC or the state agency in one of
these states, it will automatically be flled with the other agency, to0. If your state doesn't have a work-sharing
agreement, and you want to preserve your rights under both federal and state law, you may file a charge

with both agencies yourself,

Filing a Charge

Currently, you may file a charge of discrimination with the EEOC in person or by mail. To file by mail, you
must inctude the following information: '

«your name, address, and phone number

.the name, address, and phone number of the employer

. how many employees the employer has

. a short description of the discriminatory Incident(s), including when it took place, and

.the basis for the discrimination (that is, whether the employer discriminated against you based on race,

religlon, or sex, for example).

You can find detailed Information on the EEOC's charge-filing procedures at the EEOC website
(http://www.eeoc.qov). To find out how to file a charge of discrimination under state law, contact your state's

falr employment practices agency.

Getting Legal Help

If you belleve you have been discriminated against, you may want to contact an experlenced employment
lawyer right away. A lawyer can help you figure out how best to protect your rights going forward, including
whether and wheh to file a charge of discrimination and what to Include in it. Once you file a charge, a
lawyer can help you negotiate with your employer, participate in the agency's investigation (if there is one),
and file a lawsuit.

(ht (nt

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

Practlce Area: | Empioyment | Zlp Code: | Enter Zip Code | r SEARCH
. |
How It Works |
Briefly tell us about your case Provide your contact Connect with local attorneys '
informatlon i

Free Legal Information [http:f‘fmm.empIovment!awﬂrms.com!topicsfemp!ovment-lavﬁ

http://www.employmentlawfirms.com/ statutes-of-limitations.cfim 3/29/2016
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Department of Labor (http://dol.delaware.gov/)>>Division of Industrial Affairs
(/index.php)

Home (/index.php)

About |A (/about-ia.php)

Divisions/Programs (/divisions.php)

Employment (https:/joblink.delaware.gov/)

State Public Meeting Calendar (http://egov.delaware.gov/pmc/#agency211)
Related Links (/related-links.php)

Office Locations (/office-locations.php)

Services

Information

File a Charge

NAVIGATE '

" NAVIGATE

Discrimination Home (/discrimination/)

Practices (/discrimination/discriminatory-practices.php)
Race/Color (/discrimination/race.php)

Sex-Based (/discrimination/sex-discrimination.php)

Sexual Harassment (/discrimination/sexual-harassment.php)
Sexual Orientation (/discrimination/sexual-orientation.php)
Pregnancy (/discrimination/pregnancy.php)

Disability (/discrimination/disability.php)

http://dia.delawareworks.com/discrimination/file-a-charge.php 3/30/2016
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Age (/discrimination/age.php)

National Origin (/discrimination/national-origin.php)

Religion (/discrimination/religion.php)

File a Charge (/discrimination/file-a-charge.php)

Charge Processing Procedures (/discrimination/procedures.php)

What An Employer Should Know (/discrimination/what-an-employer-shouId-know.php)
Mediation at DDOL (/discrimination/mediation.php)

Facts About Mediation (/discrimination/mediation—facts.php)

Discrimination Intake Form (/discrimination/discrimination-questionnaires.php) !

Questions & Answers About Mediation (/discrimination/mediation-g-and-a.php)

NOTE: Federal employees or applicants for Federal employment should contact the EEOC
for information on procedures to make a complaint of discrimination.

Who Can File a Charge of Discrimination?

- Any individual who believes that his or her employment rights have been violated under

the Delaware Discrimination in Employment Act
(http:Hdelcode.delaware.gov/title19!cDO?IscOZfindex.shtml) or the Handicapped

Persons Employment Protections Act
(http:l/delcode.delaware.gov/title19/c007lsc03lindex.shtm|) may file a charge of

discrimination with DDOL.

How is a Charge of Discrimination filed?

« A charge may be filed in person at the DDOL. office in Dover or Wilmington.

¢ You may start the process by downloading and completing Discrimination Intake Form
(discrimination-questionnaires.php). Submit the completed questionnaire to our
offices. We will contact you to set up an appointment to finalize the filing process.

« Individuals who need an accommodation in order to file a charge (e.g., sign language
interpreter, print materials in an accessible format) should inform the DDOL office in
advance so appropriate arrangements can be made.

What Information Must Be Provided to File a Charge?
» The complaining party's name, address, and telephone number;

h‘ttp://dia.delawareworks.com/discrimination/ﬁ.le—a—charge.php 3/30/2016
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. The name, address, and telephone number of the respondent employer, employment
agency, or union that is alleged to have discriminated, and number of employees (or

union members), if known;

« A short description of the alleged violation (the event that caused the complaining party
to believe that his or her rights were violated); and

« The date(s) of the alleged violation(s).

+ The Discrimination Intake Form (discrimination-questionnaires.php) will help you
gather the information we will need for your specific situation.

What Are the Time Limits for Filing a Charge of Discrimination?

All laws enforced by DDOL require filing a charge with DDOL before a private lawsuit may be
filed in court. There are strict time limits within which charges must be filed:

- A charge must be filed with DDOL within 120 days from the date of the alleged violation,
in order to protect the charging party's rights to file an action in state court.

- The filing deadline is to 300 days under federal law. A charge filed between 121 and 300
days will be forwarded to the EEOC for processing.

. To protect legal rights, it is always best to contact DDOL promptly when discrimination is
suspected.

What Agency Handles a Charge that is also Covered by Federal Law?

Through the use of "work sharing agreements," EEOC and the DDOL avoid duplication of
effort while at the same time ensuring that a charging party's rights are protected under both
federal and state law.

« If a charge is filed with the DDOL and is also covered by federal law, the DDOL "dual
files" the charge with EEOC to protect federal rights. The charge usually will be retained

by the DDOL for handling.
« If a charge is filed with EEOC and also is covered by state or local law, EEOC "dual files"
the charge with the state or local FEPA, but ordinarily retains the charge for handling.

(/index.php)
Division of Industrial Affairs (/index.php)
Workers' Compensation (/workers-comp/) | Labor Law Enforcement (/labor-law/)
|Safety and Health Consultation (/osha-consultation/) | Discrimination (/discrimination/)

Share (http://www.addthis.com/bookmark.php?v=250&pub=stateofdelaware) _

Delaware.gov (http://www.delaware.gov) | Privacy
(http://www.delaware.gov/help/privaoy.shtml) | Translate
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(http://www.delaware.gov/phonedirectory/)
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